Blog #11

 

How to be daddy’s little girl

 

Big brown puppy-dog eyes, the pouty lip and studders of “b-b-b-but daddy” are an easy way to get to daddy’s heart.  No dad can turn down that sweet innocent look.  It works every time. 

 

Since I was little, I learned how to become my dad’s sidekick.  He was always there for my protection against boys, siblings and of course I never got in trouble.  The rules are simple:.

1)      Tell him he is right, even when he is wrong. 

2)      Tell him he is the best dad, even though he is your only dad.    

3)      Always say thank you when he helps with homework. 

4)      Ask him to teach you how to change a tire. 

5)      Give him hugs just because. 

6)      Show him that you will always be sweet and innocent.    

 

Even as an adult, the rules don’t change.

 

Walking home from school, I dial dad’s number.  He answers as he reads the caller ID which I had changed to “my favorite.”  A general introduction of how are you is exchanged and his next words are “what do you want?”  I innocently reply with “nothing daddy, I just wanted to call and say how much I miss you.”

 

 

How to ghost ride the whip

 

Cars driving on their own has been a common image strolling through the Central Valley. 

 

The Bay Area hyphy movement has spread throughout California and has left its mark.  It has become the newest trend of coolness. 

 

1)      Put the car in drive or idle.

2)      The driver and passenger must exit the vehicle.

3)      The driver and passengers dance beside the car or on the hood or the roof. 

4)      Blast E-40’s song “Tell me when to go.”

 

  Driving up and down the hills of San Francisco makes the stomach nauseous.  Dodging in and out of traffic to race time places oneself in the video game Frogger.  Then time slows down as a low rider Cadillac is being driven by a ghost with a man dancing along side shaking his dreads singing “tell me when to go.”  I just witnessed a ghost riding the whip.     

 

 

 

 

