While I was spending my Sunday in the comfort of my own bed catching up on some much-needed Sex and the City motivation, someone asked me “Do you ever wish you could hit the undo button?”

I was caught a little off guard for such a deep question, but there was no hesitation in my answer. “No,” I said.  Even after taking some time to look back on my answer, I am still 100 percent positive that I have never wished that I could just go back and undo what I have done.

I am who I am today because I have lived life to the fullest with no regrets. I am who I am today because I have lived through mistakes I have made. Even through all the break ups, failed economics tests, overdraft fees, and arguments over things that didn’t really matter, I never want to go back and undo those mistakes. From every mistake, you grow as a person, build your character and develop into who you are. I am pretty proud of who I am today and that’s because of the life I have lived – right or wrong.

Wishing to go back and do things differently validates why more people should create a bucket list of things they want to accomplish in life. A bucket list helps trigger your brain to achieve the wants and needs in your life. Even if you don’t focus your thoughts every day on climbing Mt. Everest, you have it set in your brain that is something you want to accomplish. Subconsciously you are thinking about it and it will happen. All you have to do is put that thought in your head. It is setting yourself up to accomplish all the things you want in life. It is a recipe for happiness and success.

Through this process, I have developed a new perspective on life–live life to the fullest with no regrets. Even though the moon may be difficult to reach, we always have the stars to fall upon. Nothing is impossible or out of reach as long as you have the right mind-set. Most people want to hit that undo button so they can go back and do the things they never did because they were afraid.

Why not reach for the moon now while we have the chance? There is no undo button and there is no time machine. You can always create those changes now that you wish you would have 10 years ago, but that doesn’t give you those 10 years back. Join the NASA team and fly to the moon. Achieve your dreams and goals while you still have the chance. Want your dreams bad enough and don’t take no for an answer.

This is why I created a bucket list. A bucket list is simply a road map for your dreams and goals so you don’t wish for that undo button. Create a bucket list and work toward those goals so one day you will actually land on that moon instead of floating up in the clouds with no dream map. Landing upon those clouds with no map may just land you back where you started the next time it rains but if you land upon the moon or at least fall upon the stars you will surpass those storm clouds moving in.

So take a chance, do what makes you happy, and don’t dwell on the past you can’t change.

